Ocean County, NJ Auto Accident Lawyers
In New Jersey, driving is a privilege, not a right
It is the responsibility of all drivers to proceed with care, abide by all traffic laws, and to carry auto insurance.
New Jersey is a no-fault state, meaning that if you are involved in an auto accident your own insurance company will pay for your medical bills (minus a co-pay and deductible) regardless of who caused the accident. This is referred to as your Personal Injury Protection coverage or PIP. On the other hand, if you are involved in an automobile accident caused by the negligence or recklessness of another driver, then any compensation for lost wages, other economic losses and/or personal injuries would be the responsibility of that driver and/or his insurance company. If you find yourself in a situation where you have been injured in an car accident, it is important that you contact an attorney experienced in dealing with auto accident cases in order to protect your right to full compensation.
It is beneficial for all drivers to understand car insurance in New Jersey.
- Standard, basic, and no insurance coverage – As a driver, you are required by law to have minimum insurance coverage. If you have no insurance, you risk mandatory suspension of your driving privileges for at least one year and the possibility of fines or even jail time.
If you are a driver with a modest income and minimal assets to protect, you can choose a lower-cost basic insurance policy and still comply with the law. However, this option may leave you financially liable if you are found responsible for an auto accident that causes serious injuries to other people.
A standard policy can protect you from liability for damages up to $500,000 per accident. An auto accident attorney in New Jersey from Berry, Sahradnik, Kotzas and Benson, P.C. can advise you about insurance issues and help you receive the fair compensation you deserve when you suffer injury through the negligent or reckless driving of another person.
- Proportional Comparative Fault – In New Jersey, auto accidents where two or more drivers may bear some fault are subject to the 51 percent rule. This means that a driver found by the court to be the most responsible for an accident (51 to 100 percent) cannot collect from the other driver or drivers for injuries or property damage suffered in the accident. This rule affects litigation compensation only. Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage is unaffected by fault.
- Monetary and non-monetary damages – Monetary (Economic) and non-monetary (Pain and Suffering) damages – Our Ocean County law firm is experienced in protecting the rights of automobile accident victims. We can assist you in obtaining proper and complete relief for any injuries you sustained in a motor vehicle accident. If you were injured as a result of the negligence and/or recklessness of another then you are entitled to economic damages such as lost income, property damage and any unpaid medical bills resulting from your accident. You are also entitled to damages for pain and suffering as a result of the accident. This may include personal injuries, emotional distress, psychological injuries, or in the most unfortunate of circumstances there may be a claim for wrongful death.
If you are involved in a auto accident in Red Bank, Toms River, Forked River or anywhere in Ocean County then you should have the assistance of a NJ law firm that is experienced in representing auto accident victims.
Ocean County auto accident resources
Ocean County auto accident attorneys familiar with local courts
The law firm of Berry, Sahradnik, Kotzas and Benson, P.C., has been handling personal injury litigation for clients in New Jersey since 1941. For a free consultation, contact us online, or call 888-377-1296 or 732-504-3056.